Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

A bizarre design

Posted by Darren on April 2, 2011

When I saw this small caterpillar (approx 1 cm in length) I was amazed at the bizarre architecture.  I only managed a few photos as it was quite difficult to catch the whole caterpillar in focus considering the limited depth of field.  I am glad that I captured the bizarre projections on the back which make this caterpillar a truly unique specimen.  I’m not even going to try identifying the species as I wouldn’t even know where to start, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
5 Responses to “A bizarre design”

  1. The only thing I can say is WOW!!!

  2. Darren said

    Hi Emma, thanks for the feedback. It was certainly a unique find.

    Also, thanks to Don Herbison-Evans from http://lepidoptera.butterflyhouse.com.au for the Identification as the caterpillar of Homodes bracteigutta

  3. TGIQ said

    My word! What a crazy-looking critter!!!

  4. Nursey Jo Jo said

    AMMMMAAAAZZZZIIINNNGGGG!!!!

  5. Spectacular work. I’m using the same camera and lens plus SB800 flash and can’t get anywhere near the quality you are achieving. I wish I could could get some tips from you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

