Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

Hello world!

Posted by Darren on April 6, 2010

Hi all, welcome to my blog “Bug shots”, a photographic collection devoted to my interest in insect photography.

As an amateur photographer, my interests are primarily closeup/macro and wildlife photography, with the occasional attempt at storm photography (weather permitting).

What I enjoy most about close up/macro photography is that it reveals something hidden, details not usually noticable to the naked eye.  With macro photography you can open up a whole new world of detail, and it is the art of this that draws me too it.

Why a blog devoted to the photography of insects? 

The infinite variety and architecture of insects is truly fascinating.  So many different forms of life make for endless photographic opportunities.  This blog is way for me to share my interest in this form of photography, as well as document my progress in improving in this area.  For my own interest, I also try to identify the insect that I’m shooting, though I am by no means an expert in entomology, so please correct me if I’m wrong.   

Cheers

Darren

6 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Jo said

    Darren,

    Your photos are AMAZING! 😉

    Regards Jo

  2. jo lindsay said

    Darren, your photos are fantastic. I don’t know anything about entomology, however I found the images so intriguing. Thank you for sharing your talents.

  3. Richard said

    Hi Darren
    Great photo`s and an interesting write up which I am sure will get visitors to your blog thinking.Regards Richard

  4. Josie said

    Hey Darren,

    your pics are really something! Very impressive. I especially like the blow fly one with the huge red eyes and also the blue banded bee shots. Keep them coming! Great work.

    Jose

  5. Richard said

    Hi Darren
    More great shots.I think the structure of the plants are interesting in the close up view as well as the Bugs!These are the things we miss as we blunder past the rest of the world thinking mainly of our own existance.

    All the best Richard

  6. Renee Huntley said

    Some very unusual and stiking shots Darren. It is clear that this subject is very interesting to you.
    We don’t always see the beauty in these animals…..your shots highlight the magnificence of all creatures.

    Keep up the good work
    Renee

Leave a Reply

 
