Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

Blue Banded Bee (Amegilla cingulata): Caught in flight

Posted by Darren on April 10, 2010

Catching insects mid-flight is not the easiest, and is something I’m always trying to do better every time I try it.  Here are a few shots of Blue Banded Bee flying into some flowers.  They some good examples of the blue metallic banding that seems to look brighter depending on the angle you observe them from.

4 Responses to “Blue Banded Bee (Amegilla cingulata): Caught in flight”

  1. Hi Darren, just wanted to let you know that I stumbled upon your blog and I enjoy reading it very much.
    I love taking photos of insects and spiders too, so your photos serve to inspire me.
    I recently went out on a field trip and was fortunate enough to capture a bee in flight. The shot I took was due to pure luck as I didn’t prepare for it.
    If you’d like to view this particular shot (and any of my other photos) you can find it (them) at http://www.flickr.com/photos/miguelcarvajal/4448998645/

    • Darren said

      Hi Miguel, thanks the comments.

      Nice photos. Catching insects mid flight without blur is always a bonus in this kind of photography.

      Thanks

      Darren

  2. Blackbird said

    I just came across your blog. What a cool shot! I am always very pleased when photos in flight are focused! I am most lucky with hovering bees, which are easier, but I am still to get a hoverfly in flight!

    • Darren said

      Hi

      Thanks for the comments. I find hover-flies quite difficult as well as they will spook very easily and you don’t get a lot of time to focus before they move off. I have managed one shot of a hover-fly in flight which I will post next, though I hope to catch a few more over time. I was glad to catch the hover-fly in focus in this shot, but I’m not as happy with the composition of the shot so hopefully I will have a better example in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
