Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

Another Jumping Spider

Posted by Darren on July 18, 2010

I’ve seen quite a few of these small jumping spiders (Family Salticidae) around lately, and I came across this specimen on a window frame near a constant parade of ants.  I find these day light hunters quite easy to spot,  but they can spook if you get too close too quickly.  They are beautiful to watch as they stalk around leaves looking for prey.  I’m not quite sure what the species is, but I see this particular type of spider regularly and suspect if may be the Garden Jumping Spider (Opisthoncus sp.) though I am not certain.

3 Responses to “Another Jumping Spider”

  1. Mark said

    Fantastic shot, I found a couple of these around home but haven’t been able to get close enough to them

    • Darren said

      Hi Mark, thanks for the comment. The jumping spiders can be hard to photograph and will spook easily if you approach too fast. They make for beautiful subjects though.

  2. […] Another Jumping Spider (via Bug Shots) Posted on November 25, 2010 by spindelman I've seen quite a few of these small jumping spiders (Family Salticidae) around lately, and I came across this specimen on a window frame near a constant parade of ants.  I find these day light hunters quite easy to spot,  but they can spook if you get too close too quickly.  They are beautiful to watch as they stalk around leaves looking for prey.  I'm not quite sure what the species is, but I see this particular type of spider regularly and sus … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

 
