Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

Gum Tree Shield Bug

Posted by Darren on July 19, 2010

Here’s a shot of what is commonly known as the Gum Tree Shield Bug, one of several Shield bug species that inhabit eucalyptus tress in the area.   These Shield bugs are known to emit a foul-smelling odour if attacked which is quite pungent.  I found out the hard way a few weeks ago when a shield bug hitched a ride on my back into my workplace.  Feeling something crawl near the back of my neck, I rubbed the area with my hand and unfortunately had to sit the rest of the day with a foul-smelling shirt collar.  When you discover how bad it smells, it must be horrible to taste and a great deterrent for a hungry predator.  In this shot you can see the long proboscis tucked underneath the body.  When you look at their exoskeleton up close it is very intricate and almost crustacean-like in appearance.

6 Responses to “Gum Tree Shield Bug”

  1. Nice closeups, are you doing these with just your camera or using a software?I enjoy trying to get close and marvel at what I discover.Have a friend witha good collection of insect sites:
    http://mobugs.blodspot.com. Come visit me Out On the Prairie.
    Regards

    • Darren said

      Hi Steve. I’d have to say that these shots are mostly achieved by my camera and dedicated macro lens. I also do some cropping for better composition as well as some minor contrast adjustments, but my editing skills are very basic!
      I’m familiar with MOBugs and actually have a link to them on my site. Look forward to checking out your blog.

  2. Your site is wonderful. The close-up pictures show the beauty of our world’s littlest creatures. I have looked at every picture and each is absolutely riveting. I know I am hooked. Your site has been made the Nature Site of the Week at Nature Center Magazine.

    Emma

    • Darren said

      Hi Emma, thanks for the great feedback and helping to share my site with others. Looking forward to checking out Nature Center Magazine.

  3. Ratty said

    Your bug shots are the best I’ve ever seen. I have always loved closeup pictures of bugs of any kind. They look so alien and mysterious, yet the closeness still helps us understand and study them better.

Leave a Reply

 
