Bug Shots

A closer look at insect photography

Stingless Bee

Posted by Darren on August 30, 2010

Here’s a few shots of a small native stingless bee which from all my research appears to be Trigona carbonaria, though I am not completely certain. I often see these small bees buzzing around bright flowers and finally managed to get a few shots.  They are really quite small (approx 5- 6 mm) and can be easily disturbed if you get too close.  I wasn’t actually sure what these small insects were at first until I managed to get a few close ups.  I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for more of these little bees in the future.

One Response to “Stingless Bee”

  1. The close up is fantastic. It is really something to see such detail on these creatures. Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

 
